10th Week: Puzzle Game

The Idea

The idea was to make a simple maze game, where player can travel from A to B. Then we thought why not add different layers in one level to make it more interesting.

Why this game?

I got an excuse to design levels for a Puzzle game.

What went right?

  • Feedback Loop: This time there was a good feedback to the player. The best thing is he is playing the game without asking me what to do? I think I am learning how to transform dead game into alive games.

What went wrong?

  • Level Design: There are some levels in the game that are good. But I am not satisfied with the levels I made. I didn’t found a pattern to design levels (this time). Actually I felt designing levels for this game is so hard compared to my other games.

What I have learned?

  • Level Design Patterns: Go and learn much more about level design. There is so much left. Analyse levels which has layer switching mechanic. (Another Perspective)
  • Feedback loops: Just before some months I was only concentrating on mechanics, level design. But I never think about the player experience. Most of my old games are like something is happening behind the screen but the player is not understanding what is happening, what to do? But now most of the time I am spending making better experiences for the player.

You can Play the Game here: Colour Switches

Leave a comment