7 Hours jam

7 hours jam: Explode bombs

The idea:

The idea was very simple “Click on the bombs to explode them, before they reach down.” One more thing is ‘If another bomb is near explosion it bounces back.’ The experience I wanted to deliver is a fast paced tapping experience, and the explosion should feel awesome.

Why this game?

Actually I played a game where you have to click on the candies to destroy, before they reach at the bottom.  That game was pretty boring. I thought about few Systems to make it interesting. The reason is I wanted test the Systems (which are running in my mind) whether they are, interesting to play or not.

What went Right?

There were only few Systems:

  1. Bombs are falling down.
  2. Click on the bombs to explode.
  3. If a bomb is near explosion, it bounce back.

Playable: The playable built was made very fast. So I had a lot of time to iterate the game.

 
What went Wrong?

  • Scoring system: I tried few different kinds of Scoring systems. Click on the bombs, combine the yellow bombs, create blue dots. But everything didn’t made sense.
  • Meaning to the game: There is no reason for the player, why he have to click on the bombs? What happens if he didn’t click on the bombs? You can also say there is no goal in the game.

What I have learned?

Iterate: I had a lot time to iterate the game.

1st Version:

scr_1

In this version bombs are falling down. When you click on a bomb it explodes and if another bomb is near the explosion it bounces back. This bounced bomb moves in random direction and collides with walls. I thought to make  the bouncing bombs special.

2nd Version:

scr_2

In this version I add speciality to bouncing bombs. They turned into yellow and starts destroying everything. It helps you.

3rd Version: 

scr_3

In this version for the multiplier I added if two yellow bombs collide with each it turns into blue dot, which increases your multiplier.

 

  • The game was not completed.
  • I fell like something is missing.
  • First make the playable as soon as possible.
  • Then play the game and see what is missing in the experience you wanted to deliver.
  • The most important thing is the experience you wanted to deliver, so make sure every element in the game is working towards that experience.
  • Design your gamepaly around experience, and design  your experience inside your gameplay.
  • Maybe someday I’ll complete it.

 

Play: Explode bombs

One thought on “7 Hours jam

Leave a comment